[Skip to content]

Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Foundation Trust
For healthcare professionals
Search our Site


Advanced nursing team

Advanced nursing teams

As a specialist Trust, we employ a large number of specialist nurses. Collectively they are known as our advanced nursing team and are divided into four areas:

  • Nurse consultant
  • Lead nurse
  • Clinical nurse specialist
  • Advanced practitioner

These specialists have all undertaken a post-registration qualification in their chosen speciality.


Nurse consultants are educated to Masters (MSc) or PhD level, while lead nurses, clinical nurse specialists and advanced practitioners will all hold a BSc and either hold or are working towards an MSc.

In some cases equivalent years of experience will take the place of a formal MSc in the relevant field. In addition, nurses at advanced practitioner level will have or are working towards either a planning and scheduling professional accreditation or an advanced nurse practitioner qualification. 

Royal Brompton

Sydney Street,
London SW3 6NP
Tel: +44 (0)20 7352 8121